Sunday, 2 May, 2021 in Music

Into Music Reviews: New Music May 2021

Here at Into Music towers, we’ve been bringing you details of the best new music releases in recent months. To quote an old comedian……..”and there’s more”. So strap yourself in, sit back, read on and enjoy.

Artist: Texas
Song: Mr Haze

Let’s cut to the chase, Mr Haze, the new track from the Glasgow titans is a rock’n’soul, Motown tinged belter from start to finish. It samples the Moroder/Bollette track Love’s Unkind recorded and made famous by Donna Summer in 1977 and is an instant earworm, with singer Sharleen Spiteri’s vocal intoning soulful harmonies against a disco summer beat. Factor in the ubiquitous Robert Hodgens (Bobby Bluebell) as co-writer and contributing backing vocals and you’re guaranteed 3:39mins of poptastic pleasure. The lyrics hint of lost love and unanswered questions. 

The track is a precursor for Texas’s 10th studio album, Hi which also features the earlier title track single featuring the Wu-Tang Clan. Based loosely on out-takes from their eponymous White On Blonde album, additional collaborations will involve Richard Hawley and Claire Grogan and will be released 28th May 2021 – one not to miss. The song will be ‘record of the week’ on BBC Radio 2 next week.

Keep up to date with Texas including the album release and tour via their website here.


Artist: The Bikini Bottoms
Song: Monster Love

Previously a 2-piece surf/garage/rockabilly band, well known in and around Glasgow, singer Jack Elfick’s move to London has seen a change in personnel for the Bikini Bottoms with drum duties now carried out by Robbie Kuhn and the addition of Guido King on double bass. This has certainly bolstered the band’s sound if new single Monster Love is anything to go by. 

The song has it’s roots in early psychobilly (c81-84) where the imperfect marriage of rockabilly and punk came together to forge a new sound. King’s slapping bass and Kuhn’s energic, jackhammer drums really complement the guitar strumming and vocals of Elfick. 

Monster Love is a horror-tinged track with howls, hollers and a voodoo beat to match. More please!

For information on The Bikini Bottoms visit their Bandcamp page here


Artist: Felix & the Sunsets
Single: Pass Me My Matches

The 4th and final track from Felix & the Sunsets new EP (funded by Creative Scotland) sees the release of Pass Me My Matches, a track about a repentant arsonist! The diverse rock trio again delve into their many influences to produce a bluesy ballad which features an aching guitar solo shredding a sonic groove before singer Felix Christie’s vocal takes centre stage. 

The organ by Sean Logan is also prominent on the track though it is the guitar that (rightfully) is the stand out here. Think Page, White and Hendrix and you won’t be far off the mark As the final chapter of their EP, it is a fitting way to conclude what is a solid release from the Leith band. 

Keep up to date with Felix & the Sunsets via their Bandcamp page here


Artist: We Are Joiners
Single: Black & Blue

Our favourite Dutch rockers are back with a new single, Black & Blue which is about police brutality, riots and lots more besides. The track kicks off with a great rockabilly riff before merging elements of punk, static noise and a guitar sound that equally assaults and pleasures the ears. 

The vocal reminds me a bit of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and the song was recorded on a 8 track in Joep from the band’s bedroom. A 2 minute cataclysmic triumph – I just wish it was longer!  

For all things We Are Joiners, visit their Bandcamp page here


Artist: SNIDE
Album: Punk-Sutawny

Somewhere in Kent, there is a small independent record label by the name of Dammit Records who have truly bought into the DIY, punk ethos providing bands (both local and beyond) with a platform to release their music. 

One such band is SNIDE, a female-fronted punk band who’ve been on the scene since 2007 and have toured with the likes of The Dickies, UK Subs and others. Dammit Records have successfully pulled together a collection of 16 tracks covering the band’s output from inception to now and it’s a great way to discover their music. 

Early track Recluse is a case in point, the drums kick things off before machine-gun style guitars take the track to another level, while singer Louzer’s distinctive and impassive vocal compliment the musicianship perfectly. 

Elsewhere, tracks such as Peace Of Mind and Quicksand are powerful in terms of lyrical content, focusing on mental health and wellbeing.

Hey Mr Joseph is a straight-up, no frills punk track with plenty of “wow-ows” whereas on Get Back In Line we see SNIDE slow down somewhat before embarking on a rallying and voracious finale to the track. The last track, Go On closes the album and has a more nuanced, new wave/ post punk feel to it. 

SNIDE are on Bandcamp here

Small, independent Labels like Dammit Records are the lifeblood of the music industry and deserve a stage and an audience. Go check out there Bandcamp page here

John Welsh



Leave a Reply

By browsing this website, you agree to our privacy policy.
I Agree